Cutting acrylic panels for MP3DP

Ok I know asking this is like beating a dead horse but I’m going to beat it anyways. I cant touch the price of HDPE in my area so i decided to go with 1/4" acrylic for the side panels on my MP3DP V4 (Serial # 000009 :sunglasses: ) For the screw holes and cutting the part out I’m going to use this bit Usually i would run this at 4mm doc and around 15mm/s thinking about going for 2mm doc and 20 mm/s. Is that still too much DOC?

Also for the logo on the front panel I’m going to carve it with a 60° V Bit if that will work. I have never used a V bit on acrylic before. If it will work any suggestions on feeds/speeds/DOC? Usually for a V bit i just let it go automatic and let it eat. But this isn’t wood so I’m not sure what to do here. I can always do the logo with a 1/16" endmill. I just think it will look a lot better with the V bit…if it will work. I have it set to 3mm depth limit.

For the screw holes i was going to countersink them 3.18mm. I’m assuming 3.18mm left will be plenty to hold the panels. I can do away with the countersink if that would be better as well.

Here is a screen shot of the front panel in estlcam along with my current bit settings.

2 Likes

That sounds like a great starting point…but just do some test cuts. You want to make sure those chips get out of the way.

I think the safest way is clear it out with an endmill and then let the Vbit do the edges. Super safe and still gets you sharp corners. I have no experience with a vbit in acrylic, so I can;t help with speeds there.

That doesn’t seem right. What is the length of your screws? This is kind of a finicky part. You want as much as possible in the tnut, but not bottom out or they will mess things up.

2 Likes

The channel for my Alu Extrusion bottoms out ~6mm, for 1/4" panels (that don’t compress like soft Ply), I’d consider M3 x 12mm with 1/4" panel instead of recessing the holes. Although recessed bolts/holes do look nice.