New LR3 in Northeast Pennsylvania

This is my first venture in CNC. I started 3D printing with an Ender 3 about 3 years ago. I dabble in woodworking and electronics (ESP 01/8266/32, Arduino, etc) among other things. Professionally, I’m a software engineer. So, I have some useful related experience. If you ask my wife, my hobby is collecting hobbies.

Overall, this has been a lot of fun. Sure there’s some frustration mixed in there, but it’s wild that a person can have a machine with this kind of capability at this price.

Specs
Working Area: 34.5" x 75"
Table Size: 49" x 90"
Rails: 3/4" EMT
Board: Jackpot v1.1
Router: Kobalt
Parts: All sourced from V1 store (including printed parts)

Table Details

Status

• Table Built
  • Gantry Assembled
  • Wired
  • Crown
  • Router Mounted
  • Squaring and Z Leveling
  • Strut Plates Cut
  • Strut Plates Installed
  • Wiring

I did the crown before Z leveling so I expect it would be better now (the right side is a bit light).

I was super excited that after squaring, I can’t even detect a difference between the diagonal differences with a tape measure. Surely less than half a mm.

I was playing in foam. I created the letter Y in Inkscape and created the gcode in Estlcam. After I play around a bit more, I’ll cut the strut plates.

My Kobalt router seems to have an issue where the RPMs don’t stay consistent. They’re ok at setting 1 but they seem to waver at other speeds. It seems that it will stop doing that after a bit until you change the speed again. We’ll see if that resolves itself, otherwise I’ll swap it for a new one. I saw someone else had the same issue.

I need to sort out some wiring organization but I’m waiting until I get the strut plates cut before going too crazy. I’m curious how others are handling the power cables. At some point, I’ll setup a vacuum, but not ready for that yet. I want all the power cables and eventually the vacuum hose at the back (Y rail side).