YZ plate material

Hey guys. I’m a complete newbie and planning to build a lowrider 3 soon, I’m currently collecting and ordering parts that I will require.

I know someone with access to a water jet cutter who is cutting me some metal XZ plates.

I noticed the YZ plates seem to be always MDF or 3d printed.

I thought about getting some metal YZ plates as well? Is there any advantage/disadvantage to that?

If it would be a good idea, what thickness should they be? (1/2" seems excessive if they are metal?)

Is there any other parts that I should consider getting made from metal for improved rigidity while I’m getting the XZ ones done?

Thanks

Welcome, Daniel! I’ve only recently begun on my LR3, though I’m well along the way printing my parts. That’s just to say that I’m not coming from the perspective of one who’s gotten all the way through this process yet.

That being the case, reading the assembly instructions, there are comments along the way about the merits of all of those plates being metal, and some comments on the length of screws that you’d need. Check that out for starters.

We all look forward to following your progress! Post often!

Hey folks, another LR3 noob here :wave:

I’m on the tail end of my build. Can’t speak to metal though I imagine you wouldn’t need a full 1/2” for the YZ plates like you said. Looks like they also suggest metal for the XZ plates since it’ll be more rigid: LowRider CNC V3 - V1 Engineering Documentation

I first printed the YZ plates in PLA on my ender 3. Problem is the bed is too small to print them flat so I had to print them vertically. Prints were fine but I had serious problems with layers delaminating when I installed components. Hole predrilling helped but didn’t solve the problem. I’m sure they’d be fine if I could print them flat.

I switched to mdf. I was too impatient to plane down my 3/4” → 1/2” so I just went for it with the jigsaw and one of the printed parts as a template.