Update to SKR 1.4?

Gotta love the support around here, there is so much help… problem is finding it… lol
I have the SKR 1.4 with DRV8825’s. I have it all running (basically), vrefs set and steppers responding on the newest marlin but it is not a version set for the lowrider. Using VS Code, how do I take the preconfigured files here, and update them for the 1.4. I’m not to worried about searching and changing values, but how do I get the basics for the Lowrider2 into a version with the SKR 1.4 (or is it there already)??

Next question, which set of firmware would I download to use… I have the SKR 1.4 (basic) the BTT TFT24, DRV8825’s the rest is a kit from Ryan (stock lead screw). Does this equate to a Rambo branch for the purposes of the firmware? Then modify config.h for the different board and drivers, or can I merge firmware… i’m very new to the compiling world…

Gotta love it… Ordering table wood tomorrow, rods and router shortly. Yeah !..

1 Like

Are you planning on wiring the steppers in series? It might be easier to start with a configuration from the rambo.

Im thinking the dual endstops… Go big or go home…
I already have a couple customers lined up with the understanding of the beginner situation… I think the job lends itself to lots of repeatability and repetitive cuts…

You can start with the v1cnc_rambo_dual branch. Off the top of my head, you’ll need these changes:

• change the board to skr 1.4
  • change the drivers to drv8825
  • change the steps/mm to 200,200,800 assuming you have all the jumpers for 1/32nd microstepping
  • disable dual Y axis in condiguration_adv.h
  • enable dual Z (and dual z endstop).
  • disable the “full graphics” lcd.
  • enable the tft24, which I think involves setting the serial ports correctly. I am not sure.
2 Likes