Total newbie with new to me primo MPCNC project

I am brand new to this so looking forward to learning from all of you experts out there. The only other thing that I have played with is a small 3018 CNC that I made a few signs on. I bought a mostly complete kit that was set up with a kit from v1 Engineering or so I am told. The size is about 3ft x 2ft. It has a printed case for the LCD screen. There was no spindle or mount with this one but I had a new 52MM spindle that I had to upgrade my 3018 with so I printed a mount that should work with that one.

The MPCNC seems to have a lot of play in it. When I try to move it around without having my hand directly in the center I find that it gets cocked at an angle. It is about 6" high as well. I have not hooked it up to a computer yet but the previous owner tried to cut something out for me without a good result yet. He did not have much time on it. He made covers that go over the stepper motors that allow you to just plug in a cable to one end in order to connect the steppers. There are limit switches on both x-axis and one of the Y-axis. I do have a couple of more limit switches to go on the other y-axis and the z-axis.

1 Like

My goal with this thing is to be able to do some light aluminum machining. I have to add in the emergency stop you see in the last picture. I do not need it to be this big or tall. What are your first suggestions???

1 Like

Shorten the feet to min length, make it half the size. :stuck_out_tongue:

These two parameter are incompatible with each other. Particularly since it looks like the Z axis on your is much higher than the minimum. My Primo is about the same size right now, and my plans are to cut to long axis to approximately half, at which time I believe that aluminum machining may be more feasible. I’m also using structural steel tubing, and have mine configured for the lowest possible Z axis.

For suggestions: