Reviving the laser

The laser haven’t been used in over a year. Missus wanted me to make sometimes for her yarn spinning. I spent a loong time getting it up and running, so many small quirks that are already forgotten. “Inline” cutting, M08 for air, M09 for shutting of air, and so on and so on. The Dupont connectors had come loose. What pin did I use again? Why haven’t I documented better!?!?

Well, I finally got back into it - but I’m not 100% satisfied with the results. How can I make the surface and the engraving nicer? Should I apply shellac before engraving? Increasing power or reducing speed would only char and soot more…

4 Likes

IIRC, engraving is better without air assist. But I’m no expert. I hope @dkj4linux or @robertbu chime in with tips.

1 Like

Ah, that makes sense! But I worry for the lens, so I think I’ll try to turn the air pressure down during engraving, but not totally shut. Thanks! :+1:

1 Like

On the local makerspace laser cutter (100W laser), I had some success doing the following:

Cutting: Put blue painters tape over the area you’re going to cut, so when you peel it off the residue/charring is on the tape not on the wood.

Engrave: Run multiple passes at lower power. Build up to the full darkness. Air assist was mildly helpful if coupled with STRONG fume extraction from the enclosure.

4 Likes

I don’t do a lot of wood engraving. For engraving, I mostly do tiles. For engraving on wood, I have produced some solid results by selecting a lighter wood and treating it with a borax solution. The laser then produces a nice, black engraving. The black will smear and therefore must be sealed. Note that engraving with borax will use lower power (and/or faster federate) and produce far less smoke in the process.

2 Likes