Overbuilt MPCNC table

I have everything purchased to start my MPCNC build, while I’m waiting for the parts to arrive and my replacement hotend for the 3d printer to arrive as well to keep on printing (I’m so scared to print the core…), I’ll start working on the table.

(fusion360, this is the current config for the drawers, a few thin ones to store anything needed for the MPCNC, and a few larger ones to store…, stuff)
(the transparent blue box is the max machine footprint for my build)

it is overbuilt in the sense that I do really appreciate a sturdy workbench, I’m a woodworker (guitarbuilder), so this is supposed to be my strength…, it’s still gonna be pretty simple to build workbench without any fancy joinery if anyone wants to do something similar, because this what I call functional furniture, not exactly pretty, it just works

I like using regular white pine for my builds and just go a little bigger, it works very well, no need for fancy hardwoods.

the idea of the project is not just to have a sturdy surface for the MPCNC to work, but also space for a simple enclosure (just to collect chips/dust) and lots of space for drawers to store stuff (small workshop)

also, anything important do I need to consider in the design that I’m missing, please let me know xd’

cheers from Chile!

3 Likes

Looks great, can wait to see it built!

@PtolemaiosLS , welcome! Looking good. Here are a few general comments.

• A lot of people like to use a torsion box for the table top. Not sure if you’re doing that on your design but if not you might want to check it out.

• Make sure you account for a replaceable spoil board. I’ve seen a couple builds that have forgotten about that and end up with a reduced z height.