Metal XZ Plate Hole Issue

Hi all,

I am a newbie from Turkey. Maybe there are other guys from Turkey as well in the forum. I started to build LR3 as a new hobby in my spare time after my Ph.D. studies. I finished printing some parts and purchased a lot of materials. However, I had to outsource metal XZ part from a local manufacturer. Although I sent the DXF files provided by Ryan to the company without any modifications, there seems to be a sizing problem with the holes in the produced parts. Why did I come across such an issue? How can I fix it?

1 Like

I measured both 4 sets of holes and they are way bigger than the intended.

The drawings have two diameters drawn - the reason was answered in this post when I asked a similar question (before having them made thankfully!) - the larger diameter is for a countersink when using a thicker plate.

The holes you have are probably 7.2mm diameter and they should be 3.2 - in your shoes I would print a couple of small cylinders of those dimensions use enough perimeters so that you have a solid part, and use them as spacers. That’s probably not the optimum solution, but I suspect it will be good enough.

6 Likes

I wish I had read the thread before manufacturing. Holes are around 7mm. I am gonna print 100% infill shoulder washers as a workaround. I hope it works.

1 Like

Don’t feel too bad, I did’t catch it either, the lady in the manufacturer’s office asked me about it… :sweat_smile:

Tip of the day: Check the entire forum before assembling any part :grinning:

There are quite a few people following that advice. :slight_smile:. Unfortunately, we just keep adding more.

2 Likes

More is good, but some things are hidden in plain sight I think.

In a perfect world, as soon as anyone sees two concentric circles on a proposed milling job, they should stop immediately and ask. In the meantime, perhaps we should consider offering two versions of the plate design, one with and one without, with an explanation on the two!