LR3 in the High Desert

Hello to everyone from Utah!

I am excited to get (slowly) started on an LR3 build. I’ve been lurking here for a little while, as I was aware of the LR2 when it came out. I got really fired up watching some build/mod vids of the LR3 recently, so here we go! I’m new to CNC and currently assembling a heavily-modded 3040 machine for small projects, so why not go all-in and build a large-format machine too? :smile:

I’m starting with all the 3D prints, since my printer is dialed and I love using it. I’ll buy the kit and control board once the prints are done. In the meantime, I’ve been trying to decide what table(s) I want to use/build. Probably going to have 4x4 and 4x8 workspaces, making the 4x8 easy-ish to break down since I don’t have a permanent space big enough for that at the moment.

I’m sure I will have plenty of questions as I go. Love this forum, so much great info here already to search for and absorb.

12 Likes

That’s a nice looking core! Welcome to the funhouse! :clown_face:

Once I round the goats up from the last batch of initiations, we’ll be in touch…

:candle: :candle: :goat: :candle: :candle:

4 Likes

Looking great so far!

2 Likes

Welcome! I took the other path - got all of the non-printed parts together, and then started the task of printing. I’m still dialing in the new printer (I’m a complete noob to both CNC and 3DP), but hope to get the first print on the bed within the next few days.

Looking forward to more pics as your build progresses.

4 Likes

This bad boy’s working on the Z drives this morning. Going with a mix of Digital Blue and Black Overture PLA Plus filament for the printed parts. My other maker machines all use Digital Blue, too.