First Build! (36"x 36" ?)

I’m still relatively new to the maker movement, I’m hoping to make my First build for the MPCNC, I’ve been an avid quad-copter flier/builder for almost a year and half and obtained a Printrbot a few months ago. I was playing around the with the idea of getting/building a CNC to cut some quad-copter parts but they always seem out of reach due to the price tag until i came across the MPCNC and I’m definitely going to get my hands dirty with this!

I’ve already started printing out my parts, but I haven’t ordered the MPCNC Bundle just yet. (waiting on the tax return)

I was playing with the idea of a 36"x36" build. I was wondering if someone out there has any suggestions with a 36"x36" build.

@Make8rPan Welcome to the forums and to the MPCNC - you’re going to have a great time with it. Lots of folks here who can help, too.

36x36 is a pretty standard build, so I would say you shouldn’t expect any surprises, other than the usual stuff of being new to everything. Is it 36x36 overall, or is that the cut area?

Like I said, there’s lots of help here, so let us know if you have any problems or questions.

What do you plan to do with yours? Engrave? Cut? Lase? Print? Everything?

Awesome, welcome. I have built a few quads, so I can say with confidence this should not be very hard for you. A little different maybe but pretty easy.

Why 36"x36"? I’m guessing you are mainly in it for CF sheets, is that the standard size available to you? If not smaller is better/faster/stronger/more accurate. 36’ is easy to do just a bit large. If you decide to buy the kit from here you will need extra belt. The kit comes with enough for about 24x24". There is a calculator linked at the end of this post that might help with these sizing questions. https://www.v1engineering.com/assembly/conduit-rails-tubes-pipes/