Failure rate of buck converters?

I bought this 6 pack of buck converters…

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B076H3XHXP/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&th=1

…and I have one that seems to be non-functional, right of the package. I checked incoming voltage with my multimeter, and it’s 24V. The LED on the buck converter is not lit up, and the outgoing voltage measures 0.

I know they are super affordable, but how many out of 6 should I reasonably expect to be nonfunctional?

I recently got some like that. Have only used one so far but it seems to be working correctly. It does have lights on it. I know you have to turn the pot several turns before it starts putting out voltage

Maybe that’s my issue? I need to turn the pot screw?
I’m still pretty new at using buck converters.

Yes sir. If I remember right I read and it was 7 turns before you started seeing anything. It was my first time using one like that as well

1 Like

Wow read the 1 star reviews! One guy said he connected 24 volts and capacitor blew up. Hitting his lip like " rocky balboa". Lmao!

But some of them said only 1 of 6 worked!

Maybe it is as simple as below the pot needs to be adjusted.

1 Like

Is there such thing as a good reliable buck converter that is affordable?

When buying from China I always buy around 10 if cheap enough, the reason is that I have to wait a long time for them to arrive and have found that many items are not up to the job.
I have had complete batch faulty in some cases. One batch of TB6600 stepper drivers for instance, 85% didn’t work at all. This was an expensive loss (I bought 12 of them) as I didn’t check them for some time after receiving them. The ones that did I ended up replacing with TB6560 which all worked very well so far.
Other items I have had problems with are 0-10 volt convertors, I received a bad batch of those that didn’t work as they should do, I ended up making my own.