Electronics Help

Hello, I’ve started my MPCNC build, and am waiting on some nylon lock nuts for the screws, so while I’m waiting for them to come in, I thought I’d mess with the electronics a bit. I was able to setup and flash marlin firmware onto my board ok(hardest part was getting windows 7 drivers to finally install). There is a section that is way over my head, as I’m not an electrician at all. This section below, can somebody break that down a bit for me? I am at the point where I have the lcd hooked up, the screen reads out OK, firmware is updated, etc. But I don’t have the steppers wired up(just ordered wiring kit today). I don’t want to fry anything, so not really sure what all this below means. Do I need to get a meter and use it to test some stuff? Do I need to turn the screws down so my servos don’t get hot basically? I’m a bit past the point of the square build on the first picture, really need to wait to get lock nuts, and the 2nd picture shows my screen lit up after flashing firmware.

Thanks for any advice!

Adjust the potentiometers according to your stepper spec sheet (a good place to start is 0.7V, any higher and you will need a fan on the heatsinks). The following video gives a very technical walk through on driver current. For the DRV8825 the quick and dirty formula is set the voltage between the potentiometers and the power ground the 90% (to cut down on the heat a bit) of half the rated current for your steppers. Voltage at the pot=.9*(stepper current/2).

What parts are you using? Specifically the drivers and motors? Did you get the from vicious1?

Its look like you have drv8825 If you buy from Ryan they already set up If you buy it somwhere else you need multimeter and you need to adjust voltage on theme before you connect stepers .

2 Likes

I do have the DRV8825 from this kit: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3D-Printer-kit-1pcs-Mega-2560-R3-1pcs-RAMPS-1-4-Controller-5pcs-DRV8825-Stepper-Motor/1936434584.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.CdRv9d