East Texas MPCNC Primo - a somewhat basic build

I figured I’d start a build thread for posterity, though I suppose it’s not that unique of a build. Maybe for keeping my own sanity through social interaction is a good enough reason :slight_smile:

I’m a newbie to CNC I suppose. So excited about diving in and working through it. I can probably come up with a dozen projects I’d like to do, but the imminent need is for cutting foam to create male plugs for composite molds. I am building a 2012 BMW 128i with all the basics (big stroker LS, 6 speed, giant tires all the way around). A sort of do-everything set up. I needed to build the flares for the fenders, do not like what is for sale, and so am going down the sadistic path of doing my own. I could just mock up foam on the car and pull from that, but I needed a CNC anyway right? So here we are. Flares are prototyped in Rhino from a 3D scan I made of the fenders. Now on to the CNC part…

Build volume will be 28"x18" X and Y. Z clearance may be set a little higher than ideal while I do the foam project (haven’t decided but likely 5"), then shortened after for future projects. Build volume was a compromise of fitting the thing in a specific place in my garage, knowing I could go smaller later, and figuring what size I wanted to make the foam slabs that will be individually cut and fit together to form the male plug.

3/4 EMT conduit. I’ve received all the hardware from V1 and new Makita router so ready on that front as well.

Finally finished printing the actual MPCNC pieces. Still have to print electronics enclosures and dust collection. Still gotta remove the brim from a few pieces (prints take too long not to include a brim IMO)

Did most with 6 perimeters, 8 layers top and bottom. Bumped it to 8/10 for the feet. Set to .30 layer height on an .40 nozzle.