DIY DLP printer, any advice?

Hi guys,

The idea of building a DLP resin 3D printer has bugged me for a long time.

I just got my hands on an old DLP projector two days ago. It’s a relatively low quality one that I borrowed from my work to at least make a test and see if this can work. If it does I’ll purchase a better one, since this one only has a 1024x768 resolution and the lens is a bit blurry anyways.

So I started to work on the mechanics design to see how I could build this thing. So far I made this first version, which seems to me to be ok. But I have no experience whatsoever in this 3D printing method, so I wonder if some of you guys could help me with advices or suggestions before I move forward and actually build the thing.

Basically what I’d like is:

-having a build surface of at least 200x150mm (should be ok)

-Keep the current hallogen lamp instead of having to put UV leds (at least for now)

-Have some kind of simple system to keep a constant level in the resin tank, and if possible build some kind of automatic cleaning after the print is done, so that basically the print is clean and almost ready to be used directly (I think I might have a few ideas for that)

I really have no clue whatsoever about what I’m doing right now, so any input would be appreciated. Like, for instance, what should I do between each layer? Just move the Z axis higher, then lower it back? build some kind of system to twist the tank so that the print separates easily from the glass? Any other idea?

Here is what It looks like so far, basically it is just some 2020 extrusions, a few corners and some acrylic for the panels.

[attachment file=67879]
[attachment file=67880]
[attachment file=67881]
[attachment file=67882]

Any suggestion, idea or advice would be really appreciated. I know this might not be the right forum to post this, but I don’t know any other place I could discuss it, so I thought I’d give it a try there.