Cutting aluminum, which bits or flutes to use?

So I’m really loving my MPCNC! I’m really starting to get into the different software and figuring out which one to use (ESTLCAM, Meshcam, VCarve, etc) but I just love the machine! It’s a whole new world coming from the additive 3dprinting world now to the subtractive world! And I haven’t even touched the laser or did that yet!

So I’ve done plenty of wood tests,etc but now I’m starting to play with aluminum and I’ll admit I’m a noob when it comes to this stuff even though I grew up in my grandfather’s shop and grew up on the mill and lathe but all his tooling was already there! :wink:

I just bought some cheapies on Amazon to get me started but playing around with SLOOOOO feed rates and RPM (I have the DW660 hookup up to an infinite RPM power supply) i tried different spindle speeds and found that slow is better but still broke the bits (3 in total) so I gave up.

I’m curious what others are running here without coolant. I’m not looking for speed. Just a nice cut.

Thanks!

Have you successfully milled wood, and plastic?

Exactly what bits are you using? How big is your machine? To slow or shallow is just as bad as too deep or too fast.

There is not an exact number for all machines, There are exact numbers for ideal chip load, but without exact spindle control it is not that simple (coming soon I hope).

I have already cut and milled tons of wood (hard and soft) and different types of HDPE, nylon and other stuff as well with these bits here.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00IY54MXY

Again, I bought these and a few others right before I was done building the unit so I’d have something to use right away. I’ll admit I’m no pro so I’m looking for advice on bits or flutes. Someone on there (Amazon post) said this…

Answer:
No, not suitable for cutting aluminum. Try onsrud. By R. Acklin on August 31, 2015