Big Tree Tech Boards for newbie - using for CNC + Printer where to begin?

Hi All - I am new to the 3D printer universe. I have many years experience in the CNC universe. I build small CNC routers and lasers usually use UCCNC and individual BOBs controllers and drivers… I have come to the conclusion that boards like BTT are far superior to the ones used in the CNC world so want to use and learn about them. Particularly for input shaping. I’ve come here because the BTT boards are used for 3D Printing and CNC which is attractive. I want to use say a BTT octopus or SKR for a chocolate printer and then a CNC MIll I want to make. I thought I’d start with the printer to gain some knowledge. So is there a cookbook on where to start the BTT journey? Is the documentation that comes with the boards good enough for a total newbie to get a machine going? Is Clipper better than Marlin? Clipper has the input shaping with BTT… So where does a beginner begin? Thanks Peter

There is good documentation available on GitHub for big tree tech boards. Marlin firmware is open source and V1 Engineering provides pre-compiled firmware for use with certain big tree tech boards for Mostly Printed CNC work (Primo and LowRider) and also for 3-D printing in that Ryan has a CoreXY 3-D printer that he designed and built and is helping others to build.

Editing of Marlin firmware and compiling of it is usually done by use of Microsoft visual code studio, which has a free version available. There are a couple of plug-ins that help with that, such as the Build Marlin plug-in and another one I can’t remember right now.