3D Aluminum Composite Panel

This is my first try of many (+15 designs already ready to cut)

5 Likes

How did the cuts go?

Despite the use of wood vbits because the acm 90° that doesnt have the tip wasnt available today it went perfect. It folded right away (but the tip caused some troubles easy fix but i didn’t wanted to damage a 3 week low use bit with a grinder to remove it) each corner was perfect. Im thinking about getting 2 vacuum pumps and make a vac holder for the panels with 16 zones in the table that should save me some time fixing the material, @jamiek idex build would be wonderful here , one router with a 1.00mm spiral and another with the v-bit…

1 Like

I assume that the panel is a 3mm with a .2 or thereabouts aluminium skin?

1 Like

Its a 4mm one. (3mm are more expensive here)

2 Likes

Thanks, I’ve been considering making my LR3 struts from 3mm with folded flanges Not yet sure how tidy that will look. I have some panel in my stash of scrounged stuff and have been saving it for a few little CNC jobs but just haven’t got around to fiddling with it.

I have been advised to use a 3mm downcut (single flute) for the outline, as it happens I actually own a Panel Folding Bit which I ordered by mistake a few years ago so no need to modify a v-bit. :wink:

Not sure about any of the above, but you’ve got me a little excited.

1 Like

Just follow Amana guidance by leaving a small amount of the plastic core in and get the acm vbit that have this profile: \ _ /

1 Like

That is very cool. I have wanted to work with ACM. It seems like a decent mix between ease of milling and strength.

2 Likes

It is pretty easy if you know how to draw and align faces (make them flat) it is pretty much just like lasering card board for making boxes with a cnc

2 Likes

@jeffeb3 have taken the time to make some other models. They are really satisfying to fold!!

6 Likes

I need to get some of that. I love it.