ZenXY Hardware or Software Issues?

First of all, thank you to anyone who takes the time to read this post. As you can probably tell once you start reading, programming is not my strong suit. This is my first CNC/programming project. If anyone can save me from giving up and driving my nearly completed table to the dump, I’d greatly appreciate it.

Here is my setup: Raspberry Pi Zero 1.1 (I’ve read some issues regarding this and I’ll address that)
ADAfruit Stepper Motor HAT for Pi

The motors are connected to the motor mount terminals on the adafruit HAT with a separate power supply that I purchased from V1 engineering that came with the stepper motors. This is my first project with anything CNC related. Am I missing crucial hardware to make my table run? I ordered a Raspberry pi 3+ and I am debating swapping out the pi zero to see if that solves my issue. If so that’s an easy solution. Do I need to add cncshield or drivers? I assumed the HAT connected via GPIO would suffice but again, this may be laughably incorrect.

I’ve followed all of the instructions here in the forum and the guide posted. I’ve run into errors along the way and have resolved most of them. On the Pi zero, I was only able to open cncjs. Rarely would octoprint work for me. I think that’s just part of the pi zero limitations. I would see the serial port connection and no matter what I did, I could not get CNCjs to home, send gcode, etc. I installed ADAfruits blinka library and if I sent python code through the ssh terminal, I would hear clicking from the sandtable, the ADAfruit HAT was flashing but nothing was moving. Am I missing a config file here to make it actually move?

I have tried flashing this image multiple times. I have noticed issues with node/npm but I was able to find unofficial builds of node/npm that were compatible with cncjs and even though I would see its ‘connected’ still nothing would run. Am I missing a config file?