XYZ Probe Jackpot

I am a total newb. I just finished my MPCNC Primo and got my Jackpot board. I did my crown test and it works great! Once I surface my spoil board I’ll be ready to mill. Okay now for the hard part. Macros. I want to buy a XYZ touch plate. Wiring it and macros… need help. Does it just wire to the Z probe? Also I need a macro I’m assuming. I found this website:

https://www.makerstore.com.au/wp-content/uploads/filebase/software/Maker-Store-XYZ-Macro-.txt

Is it as simple as copying and pasting this and saving it in the web browser FluidNC Dashboard?

Then if I change my end mill size I guess I have to edit the macro?

Sorry I’m really green

No need for macros - there’s a probe tab!
Wiring is signal and ground NOT 5v.
One wire to the router, the other to the probe on the surface of your material, when they touch, close the circuit, that stops the probe. This is your new 0 (plus plate thickness)

You just need to specify the thickness of whatever metalic thing you used for the probe. As long as you lose the same plate you don’t need to change anything - regardless of tool size tip of the tool will always be at the same distance from the surface.

Personally I use 2 magnets at the end of my wires, one goes on the collet the other on a steel ruler I know is 0.5mm thick

1 Like

Just to add a little to this. A Z probe is amazing. Probing X and Y is not very useful without a lot of forethought.

Probing and X&Y will give you two points but that does not tell you if your material is on the table square or not.

Most skip the XY probing and cut their own know good edge.

1 Like

Sadly I don’t have the probe tab…

1 Like

Freaking awesome thank you sooooo much

1 Like

I highly suggest adding it to your starting gcode so it is not forgotten during a job when it is important, milling basics.

1 Like

Will do! How do I save the retract and plate thickness to the console?

If you’re using Ryan’s config the red Save button to the right of the control panel