Working with log discs and 3D scanning

I’ve been making things with these discs of Walnut for a few years…

Damn near killed myself cutting a disc on my big Laguna 18" bandsaw one day, so I bought a sawmill :). We have a lot of trees, so a good investment.

Anyway. I used to surface them with a thickness planer, but feeding endgrain hardwood with no flat surface through that tool was also fraught with Danger and Damage.

Et, voila! Fitted out the Primo with a 1" surfacing bit the other day and it did fine job of flattening, surfacing, parallelizing. Most pleased.

Nota bene: it’s slow to do this with a wood like walnut. I was shaving off 0.5mm per pass with a pretty respectable feedrate and maybe 5mm of overlap. Be patient.

Now I’ve decided to make a bowl/serving tray shape that follows the contours of the wood.

Took a picture, and spent a day trying to get Photoshop or Illustrator or Fusion to correct the perspective so I could draw an accurate spline around the edge. Got sort of close with Photoshop perspective warp, but not close enough. No dice.

Then remembered that Revopoint 3D scanner I got from Kickstarter a while back that arrived right before we went overseas and hadn’t even opened yet.

Oh, yeah. That worked. I probably should have attached the piece to a square board before scanning. I might still so I have a good way to register the position.

So now I can draw a spline that follows the edge. Next step is work out how to carve a bowl shape with crazy organic edges using Fusion and ESTL.

Any tips?

3 Likes

I’ve done some “organic” shapes in Fusion 360, but, since I do them so rarely, I’ve never gotten very good at any of the approaches. My first choice would be a loft. Because of the way my brain sees the loft, I’d model the negative space using a loft and then cut the bowl from a modeled blank.