Ways to increase feed rates?

I’m in a unique position where my wife has a successful etsy store, so although I’m new to using my cnc, I already have a market for selling my goods. But having begun making things, I’m already interested in decreasing my cut times.

I realise the LR2 is an “economy” machine, and can’t compete with a $10k industrial cnc. But are there modifications people make to increase feed rates?

You’ll need to do some testing with your machine and materials, but in general you get faster turn times by adjusting your cut depth instead of feed speeds. You can especially tweak to exact multiples that match the full depth of your piece.

1 Like

To start, make sure you’re not doing more work than you need to. Doing things like avoiding pockets is huge. Avoiding multiple setups, avoiding tool changes. For example, if you need a 1/4" pocket in a 1/2" piece. Maybe you could cut a hole in a 1/4" piece and glue it to another 1/4" piece to create a pocket. You can also try to leave sone work for the human, so you can stay busy while it’s working.

After that, feeds and speeds. Going deeper or faster both improve your total time, but it’s better to slow down and go deeper because the steppers have more torque at lower speeds. But if you’re cutting at 6mm deep and you want 13mm deep cuts, then you’re still doing three passes. Better to either go a bit faster at 13mm/3 or push it to 6.5mm deep and go even slower. At some point, you’ll hit the limit for the materials and bits and you’ll be stuck.