Vigotec VG-L7 20W Laser Engraving Machine

Hi, I just finished my MPCNC Primo and now of course I want to complicate my life by adding the laser diode from my small Chinese laser engraver.
I am pretty new to this whole CNC also DIY electronics and things like that so that is why I am asking for help with this.
Can you convert a Vigotec VG-L7 20W Laser Engraving Machine that is still functional to a MPCNC operated Laser engraver, and most importantly how to do this?

2 Likes

@Shurub

Welcome to the forum!

I was wondering exactly what you’re trying to achieve: If you have an operable Laser machine, I would continue to use it as built. That looks like a nice, portable machine.

There is not likely to be any real advantage to installing a laser module on the Primo, except to have a more easily adjusted Z height or if you need a larger work area.

What was your goal when you built the Primo? (other than the fun of building it).

I started with the Primo, then built a medium LR3, then got a small laser engraver, and finally built my little LR3. It’s very easy to get started, but once you’re hooked…

Mike

Thanks for the welcome.

The reason I am trying to add the laser to the MPCNC is to increase its size.
I built the laser on a table of 1mx1.25m so this gives me quite a large area of operation compared to the 19cmx30cm of the original setup of the laser.
Also I want to use the MPCNC for as many things as possible (at the moment I have a rotary tool, pen, brush and a foam cutting pen) as I am trying to save space and money.
Later I will probably try to add a plasma cutter if I deem it is in any way feasible but that will be another post in a far away future.

That depends on the laser itself. If you already have the MPCNC built then you can add the laser and hopefully it’s power/driver to it, that is all you will use of the old machine.

You will need to add more details / pictures to get a better idea of what is there.