SKR Pro LR3 firmware Instructions

Hey all, Noob here. I have done a few mpcncs with ramps and it seems like everytime I need a larger one errfff! So I am going for the LR3 4x8 (shouldnt need more than that or I quit! That said, I cant seem to find a write up on step by step setting the SKR pro up through marlin or platformio. I am using electronic end stops. Any good info would be greatly appreciated

Welcome to the forum. Most people use Ryan’s preconfigured marlin firmware. I believe he has a git page were he has the changes he has made so you can compile your own

2 Likes

https://docs.v1e.com/electronics/skrpro/

There is the docs page for the SKR Pro, has most of what is needed to get the wiring and firmware configured, if the stock V1 maintained firmware will do the trick.

You can get the binary file from the Marlinbuilder Releases page

2 Likes

At Dan’s “Marlinbuilder Releases” link, you want the firmware labeled V1CNC_SkrPro_DualLR_2209. This firmware is configured for TMC2209 drivers. If you made your build using a different driver, you will need to change the drivers in configuration.h

When you typed “platformio”, in your question, it was turned into a link. That link contains step-by-step instructions on how to get the firmware compiled using platformio.

After you get it to compile:

• Place the firmware binary file on a FAT32 formatted SD card,
  • Make sure the control board is off.
  • Insert the SD card into the SD card slot on the control board, not the display.
  • Power up the control board.

If the flash of the firmware was a success, your firmware binary on the SD card will have the name changed so that it now has a “.cur” extension.

The V1 maintained firmware will not compile on Windows using the Arduino IDE.

No modern Marlin firmware will compile on Windows in the Arduino IDE. Didn’t want to leave the impression that this was a V1 limitation.