Sketch Book Cover - stuff I’ve learned

Unfinished sketchbook cover gift. Engraved MDF 3.2mm thick. Still need to finish the painting. MPCNC

It’s been so fun diving into the MPCNC Primo project. I am so pleasantly surprised at how well the kit works. I’ve never built anything like this before, but I do have some mechanical and technical background. As I got closer to finishing the build I was doubting my work more and more. It can’t be this simple… this thing is probably going to need tons of calibration. I’ll probably have to tear it all down because I did something incorrectly. That’s what I thought. I’ve never been so happy to be wrong.

The first thing I ran was the crown test with a sharpie. I limped through slicing in kiri:moto and the gcode I produced ran extremely slowly but it worked perfectly. The second thing I ran was picking a dinosaur graphic at my God-daughter’s suggestion and had it draw that. She was so entertained. It drew the T-rex about 6”x6” flawlessly.

I kept joking as I read someone saying here that I want to get to know my little robot a little better before I give it a weapon. The next day I put the Makita 700 series with a sharp thing on it and gingerly made it cut a square in some foam by using jog commands. I kind of wish I had a picture of myself all in protective clothing and gear with the stop button and a fire extinguisher at hand. No need. It simply worked.

I’ve learned a couple lessons the hard way but not the really hard way because I haven’t broken anything. Any time I do something completely new I run the gcode kind of “dry” (you probably have a perfectly good term for this). I zero the Z axis so it never touches the stock and just watch the X and Y run some of the code to make sure I didn’t do something profoundly stupid.