RAMPS 1.4 Board for LR3

Hello everyone.
I’m set to start building the LowRider 3 and have almost all parts required. I have however one question on the Ramps 1.4 + Arduino Mega 2560 main board I’m planning to use.
Can I use the E0 and E1 in this setup for the Y2 and Z2 steppers? If yes, what changes do I need to make in the firmware? Or is the firmware available on the v1e firmware page ([V1CNC_Ramps_DualLR]) is all I need? My plan is to have a dual end stop for auto squaring.
Note: I have no coding experience.

That firmware is the right one.

You don’t need any coding experience. It should flash with XLoader, so you don’t even need to compile it.

1 Like

Thanks for the quick response, Jeff. I was a bit concerned because this firmware is in the ‘untested’ category.

The V1 firmware for this board is setup for the DRV8825 stepper drivers. If you have A4988 stepper drivers (common in Ramps kits), I believe you will need to make a simple source code change and recompile. You will find instructions for compiling the firmware in Ryan’s PlatformIO instructions. Or you could avoid the issue and replace your A4988 drivers with DR8825 drivers.

Both drivers require you to set the vref voltage manually. The vref voltage set the max current the driver will output.

1 Like

Hi Robert. I won’t be using the A4988 drivers that came with the kit. I got the DRV8825 already but thanks for the tip.

2 Likes

You dpon’t need a recompile for the A4988 drivers though. You will need to change the steps/mm but that can be done from the LCD. (It can also be done from a connected PC via Gcode, but I don’t remember the codes to do so.)

The A4988 drivers have a max of 16x microstepping, so the steps/mm will be 100 (This is what we use for almost all of hte other boards, too.) The DRV8825 drivers support 32X microsteppuing, so the steps/mm is 200.