Question on settings for a v-carve

I’m doing my first carve and it’s working really well, that said I don’t want to continue operating like an idiot if I am, since I am very new to this milling process!

It’s going well but and it might just take this long but 13hrs for this might be shorter with your guidance!

I’m using 5/8" thick 10 inch circle hobby board and doing a inverted carve, leaving the letters sticking out and the back of the board carved down.

I have the 1/8" 45 V bit from Ryan and here are my estlcam settings

Are you going to do a tool change and use a larger flat bit for the pocket and save yourself 80% of the carve time? In the pocket tool portion of estlcam (blank in your photo):

you can select “new tool 3” which if 1/4" is a 6.35" and it could do the heavy lifting of clearing out everything but the tapered edge of your text.

When estlcam generates the gcode, it will run the pocket first and then the carve with a pause in between for you to change the bit.

1 Like

That’s what I was missing!! I need to learn how to setup the tool change and then do one!

Question about that, how do you make sure the lowrider doesn’t accidently move when changing tools? I noticed yesterday switching to the vbit it moved on the y axis about 30 mm when tightening.