Q: How to test a new board?

Hello friends,

I’m new to 3d printer boards, but I’m really willing to learn. I have build robots before with arduino and rpi, familiar with programming etc…

My MPCNC is currently printing. Meanwhile parts are trickling in. I received 3 boards:

1. Creality v1.1.4 (Ender 5) my friend was kind enough to give it to me for free.
  2. BTT GTR v1.0 32 bit (new from Amazon) with 2208 drivers.
  3. Duet 2 WiFi (clone from Amazon)

I also got
Nema 17 84oz.in
Power supply 12 Volts, 30A

All I want to do is to use each board to just spin the motor. This would ensure that boards are good. Can someone please tell me where to start looking or what would be a high level process to achieve this?

Creality board

GTR 1.0 board

Duet 2 WiFi clone.

1 Like

As long as all 3 are flashed with firmware. You should be able to hook up power, stepper drivers, &motors. Then connect to the pc and command each access to move.

Thanks for the reply @Atom

How do I check if there is a firmware is flashed on it already?
What software do you use to send command from pc?

Not really a way to check, if your not sure I would just flash it with new firmware from v1, you’ll need that firmware if you want to use it with the mpcnc anyway. For the gtr and creality boards that would be marlin and you should use platformio to flash it. To communicate you can use any number of programs, I think the recommended one is Estlcam. I’m pretty sure the duet board is different but not sure what you need to do.

You can find more info on the docs page Here

@jeffeb3 please correct me if I’m wrong here :slight_smile:

For the duet goto
https://configtool.reprapfirmware.org/Start to configure and get the files to put on the board . After goto https://duet3d.dozuki.com/Guide/1.)+Getting+Connected+to+your+Duet/7 to set up the board

I finished mine last night and am going to try it out tonight. Also a clone but from AliExpress with a 7in screen