Prospective New User - Questions

Hello Everyone,

First of all may I say a big hello to everyone and Happy New Year.

I would like some help deciding which hardware/software/functional route to follow. I have no 3DPrint or CNC experience. I am an electrician with many years of electronics and IT experience.

I’m currently researching a basic routing machine for wood (ply) for a one-off narrowboat (Google it) internal fit-out project in the UK.

I have already completed the required design in Fusion.
I have the remains of an original Prusa Explorer (www.3dstuffmaker.com)
I have an Arduino Uno, Nano and Mega Pro available
I am basically starting from scratch with no working mechanical hardware!

From what I have seen here I think a LowRider or variant, suitable for apprx 6’x2’finished wood size, would solve a number of my problems!

Questions:-

General…

1. If I repaired what I have with new a controller and driver boards, would your software work in both applications.
  2. What ‘aftermarket’ hot end could I use - to make what I have work - any issues or suggestions
  3. I have seen 2.2KW cooled spindles for approx. the same price as the suggested Dewalt/Makita routers, would these be better and would the gantry be strong enough not to flex?
  4. As mentioned, this is one off, could a normal router be utilised - implications?
  5. Could, say, TB6600 driver be used (just asking)
  6. The finished machine needs to be as quiet in operation as possible. Normal routers can be horrendous, what is your recommended router like for noise in use. I’m guessing a spindle would be quiet y/n

LowRrider…
7) I am concerned about rigidity and possible flexing of the gantry as I have joints to cut in specific areas. Could someone comment about this?
8) In practice how precise is LowRider and is the carriage rigid when moving, travelling etc
9) Software wise what comes in the kit?
10) Could I use UGCSender or UGCsender + GRBL but use your printed parts.