Problem with my lowrider

I just built a lowrider cnc… got everything together powered on, repetier host on. Ran into a couple problems… Only one Y and one Z sorry motor will move (more like makes a loud clunking noise) sometimes it moves sometimes it don’t. The z axis feels like it is snagged up but when powered off moves freely. I’m using a skr pro 1.2… The steppers are nema 17 1.5amp 67oz… on the tft screen, the screen functions but I can’t move the axis or anything. Can someone please tell me what to do. I’m not good with flashing, software, and all that so I can’t give much info on what I’ve done but followed the directions on this site.

Welcome @J_Gorby !

Congratulations on getting this far into your build. Friend of mine has had MPCNC parts sitting in a box for 2yrs.

Able to share picture of your machine and controller board? Would like to understand how wiring is connected, and driver slots used, jumpers and such.

For snagged Z movement, during my initial assembly I needed to fix alignment of linear rails when I noticed them binding. Also, they need occasional cleaning and lubricating to avoid steppers skipping. The steppers skipping making a loud clunking noise is mechanically harmless, they’re not getting hurt/damaged. Consider 84oz steppers Nema 17 84OZ/in Steppers – V1 Engineering Inc.

The motors look like they want to move but don’t… If I move y forward they will just clunk clunk and jerk forward just the slightest bit where u can see it… It’s every axis… I did get the firmware figured out and now have all the steppers working they just ain’t working right. I can take pics later tonight

Do you have the LCD Motion screen set to 0.1mm?

I did that and had similar results to what you described (noise, seems like it is trying to move), then realized that 0.1 mm is too small to see anything happening. When I changed the screen settings to 1mm, I could detect the movement.