Parametric LED Lightbar for MP3DP V4

Be gentile I’m trying LOL.

Made a 3d Printed light bar to go on top of my V4 to light up the bed plate. 90% done with it but I’m stuck in one area. What to do with the wires???

I have very little experience modeling anything. But I did make it parametric so if anyone else wanted to us it and had a different sized printer it “should” be easy to adapt.

Anyone have any tips on what I should do for a wire channel of some sort???

MP3DP V4 Parametric LED Bar v1.zip (108.0 KB)

3 Likes

Make it wireless!

1 Like

Not sure I’ve ever seen wireless LEDs like this before. Sure would make life a TON easier though LOL

They do exist: Look Mum No Wires - This will blow your mind - YouTube

i’d use some strands from a utp cable

Well sir I stand corrected LOL. That is cool! Still have to run wires for the coil though so I’m back to square 1 LOL.

How do I get rid of this… Speed Bump…

I don’t even know what to call it. I’ve searched all over and cant figure this out. I’ve tried running the extrudes farther but they never line up right. Trying to make this a smooth transition to run wires though.

Of course… as soon as I make a post I get an idea. I don’t know if it was the right way to do it. But it worked and I’m going to roll with it!

Fillet on the top line. Took 50mm to get it to lay down flat but it looks a lot better this way I think.

1 Like

This channel helped me out a TON when I kept bouncing my head off of F360. Learning project, intersect and pattern functions made my modeling like a billion percent more efficient.

2 Likes

This is exactly the kind of thing I am interested in learning.

I was thinking fillet at first. I’m glad that worked.

I think you could also try to make the shape and then remove it. There is something called a loft in onshape. You could have done the loft between those two faces and made a new shape. Then subtracted it from the original. The devil is in the details. I’m not sure that would work.

1 Like