Newbie - Tool Changes

I know this question has been asked in other places, but I am new at this and want to ask a little more directly.

How are people doing tool changes(one gcode file or multiple) and staying accurate on the next cut? Even with the motors engaged it is possible to shift things slightly off. A 1+mm can make a huge difference when trying to do a finishing cut.

I have tried to record my coordinates before zeroing my origin and the rehoming and dialing back in my coordinates, that can be ever so slightly off as well because of slight variations on the Y endstops.

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

I haven’t done it a lot. But I just separate the gcode into different gcode jobs and run them separately. I have seen a lot of clever gcode scripts in the forums. But I just prefer to keep it simple and do the tool change myself.

3 Likes

Here is my tool change script in Estlcam. All my tool changes happen in the same gcode so I can machine continuously.

;Change tool
M107 ; turn off spindle
G01 X0 Y0 Z5 F2000 ; Move to relative origin
M18 Z ; disable z stepper
M00 ; pause and wait until button press on LCD
G28 Z ; z probe
G92 Z0.5 ; account for probe thickness
G01 Z5 ; raise out of the way to remove probe
M00 ; pause for click to resume
M106 ; turn on spindle and continue

1 Like

i appreciate the quick responses. I am talking more about the physical change. Using the wrench, untightening the bit, maybe switching collets, tightening another bit, making sure the core doesnt shift at all during this process.

Yes, I do all of those things at this point:

M00 ; pause and wait until button press on LCD