Newbie Laser Questions

So I know several people here have the NEJE A40640 laser. Anyone care to share some of their know settings for cutting different things? I’m still extremely new to the laser stuff and I’m struggling LOL. Any kind of tips and tricks would be awesome!!!

I’m sorry you are struggling. It would easiest to help if you presented specific projects that are causing you difficulties. A few comments:

• Air assist makes a big difference in cutting wood.

• Focusing inside the wood rather than on top of the wood makes some difference in cutting speed/time.

• It can be helpful to drop your Z a bit on each pass.

(for this to work, you need to enable your Z axis in the device settings):

• I’m not sure how you are setting up your jobs, but I set up my jobs to mimic how I do routing jobs. That is the starting point is relative to the stock and typically in the bottom left corner.

• Master setting up cut tests. There are several YouTube tutorials. The biggest trick to creating cut tests is the use of “Shape Properties.” This allows you to set up a row of squares on the same layer with each shape having a different laser power. Then you can duplicate the row to create layers for different feedrates.

• I wish I took good notes from the start. I was pretty ransom with my testing at first. Later I started taking detailed notes. Here is one sample:

• I really wish I’d taken photographs of very cut and engraving test I’ve done as reference.

• For wood and some other materials, you want to do your real cutting slower and/or with more power and/or with more passes than your tests indicate. Pockets of glue or pitch are harder to cut, plus I find the Marlin compensation for laser cutting is not perfect. It can be a real pain to try and salvage a project where there are uncut places.

• Materials are not consistent and even humidity can make a difference. It pays to do a sample cut before starting a long job.