New LRv2 and having a couple issues

Hi everyone, first time poster. Just finished building my Lowrider V2 and think it’s super cool, been having fun with the build, just have a few issues that I can’t seem to figure out, as I’m new to the CNC world.

I went to work resurfacing my spoilboard using a gcode generator that took my table dimensions into account and gave me gcode to run. My results were somewhat atypical of what I expected. As you’ll see in the photos, my Y axis cut line has some inconsistencies that started about 50% through the job. I’ve also got a couple issues with my Z axis, in that one side sits lower than the other, both front to back and side to side. I’ll be attaching photos that show this as well.

I’ve spent a few hours perusing the Lowrider topics on here and have seemingly improved the situation but would appreciate some assistance in getting it squared away so I can cut some jobs on this baby! I’m open and willing to any troubleshooting suggestions and will be in the garage today, checking back for replies. Thanks in advance!

1 Like

I had what looks to be the same thing happen to me. It was a combination of the Y-Plate cut quality and tension bolts being too tight/loose. Amongst other things. Suffice it to say that I’ve rebuilt my LowRider more than once.

Please provide some of the specifications for the CAM settings. Feeds/Speeds, Depth of Cut, Bit size/type, etc.

Hey there,

My Y plates were milled by Ryan and purchased with the kit. I have been fiddling with the tensions bolts a lot so I would not be surprised in the least if they were part (or all) of the issue.

My resurfacing CAM settings you asked for are as follows: feed speed was 500 mm/min, depth of cut was 1.5mm, the bit size is 23.8mm. I’m attaching a photo of it. It’s a 3 flute surfacing bit.

I’ve got a crown test as well if that helps. The marker bled but it looks to my untrained eye like it did a good job with it.

1 Like