New build in Orlando Flmo

Hi all, first post. I thought I would post my initial experience in MPCNC world. This started out as a long term project when I discovered V1 Engineering maybe 3-4 months ago. I build vintage race cars as a hobby and noticed people were cutting aluminum with this thing so I jumped on it. I am forever getting aluminum water jet cuts made at a supplier and thought this could be a good solution to bring it in house.

As a background, I am a Mechanical Engineer by degree, extensive background in manufacturing, and have been 3D printing complex shapes and materials for 2 years. Even played around with Marlin some. So although I needed to learn a few things along the way, most of this was intuitive to me.

First off, this is about the coolest thing I have played with. I cant sent enough gratitude to Ryan and this community for making this possible. The assembly was fairly straight forward. I bought 1" s/s tubing off Ebay along with a Rigid tubing cutter. Printed all the parts and assembled per instructions. The only thing that threw me off was trying to square the x and y gantry. I had a roughly 5 mm difference in the y axis when measuring distance from truck to foot. So I began adjusting every damn bearing on the thing trying to pull it in. I was able to take maybe 1mm out, but that was it. I realized I had to live with it unless I reset the entire machine. But the bigger problem was the bearing adjustments were all over the place now and the core had play in all directions. So I spent another few hours trying to locate the play and adjust bearing to eliminate it. I just kept twisting the core and adjusting bearings until it felt solid. Are some of the bearings too tight or too loose? I dont know, it works.

After getting the steppers going in the correct direction, I jumped right in. I did 1 pen drawing then went straight to wood. The machine worked great, but programming in Estlcam was and still is a little challenging.