MPCNC Primo - Which wires to buy

Hi all,

I stumbled upon the MPCNC project a few weeks ago and I am well underway ordering my parts for the build, and now patiently waiting for the various bits and pieces to come in. I am in Canada, so unfortunately with the high international shipping costs through the V1 store and a tight budget, I have had to source my parts through aliexpress, amazon, and local hardware stores. I would love to be able to just buy the wiring kits but shipping is 3x the cost of the wires themselves. I cannot seem to find anywhere that has the specifics of the wires if sourcing outside the V1 kits. Would anyone be able to point me in the right direction? I am a novice when it comes to assembling electronics like this so I am unsure exactly what I am looking for. I’d like to get enough wiring to have the series and endstops both as options. I am making a 24inchx24inch using the ramps 1.4 + arduino mega combination and 8825 drivers, and I’ve got all the other electronic components required on order. I just need to know what wiring/connectors and the lengths.

Also as a side note, I have bought the Dewalt 660 but I realized it has no speed control on it. Would getting the Makita be better? I’d like to try my hand at aluminum and plastic eventually and don’t want to pigeonhole myself, and I’d like to avoid having to purchase a second router.

Thanks for the help :slight_smile:

Some questions before I try and answer about wiring:

• Is 24inx24in your machine size or your work area size?
  • How certain are you that you want dual end stops in the future?
  • Did you purchase five 8825 drivers?
  • How are your steppers wired? For some steppers, the wiring is hardwired into the motor, but most motors these days have a 6 pin JST connector.
  • Did your steppers come with wires or do you just have a bare connector on the stepper?
  • How far away from your machine will you be mounting the control board?