Mixing Nema17 and Nema23

I have a MPCNC Primo that I have disassembled due to space issues, but I am looking at reassembling it with a cnc rotary spindle. The problem I am questioning is that the spindle is driven by a nema 23 not nema 17. I’m looking to make a rotary mounted laser with a j-tech laser. I’m familiar with the j-tech laser and mpcnc but I have never tried to mix the motor types. I use Vcarve for another machine or is it better to still use lightburn for a set up like this? Not sure if anyone has tried to do a setup like this before.

I have no practical knowledge about this configuration, but, having played with stepper motor projects over the last year, I have some guesses. I’m assuming you will want to swap this configuration between rotary and rectangular work. If you have replaceable stepper drivers on your control board, I’m sure you can make it work, but, depending on your setup, it might be simple, or it might be involved. The big issue for me is whether the stepper driver you are using will handle enough current to effectively drive the Nema 23. It would be really helpful to know:

• Model number of the Nema 23 stepper motor
  • Model number of the Neam 17 stepper motor
  • What control board you are using
  • If the stepper drivers are replaceable, what stepper drivers you are using

So, I could see the transition being easy, where all you had to do is adjust the current setting, and perhaps the steps per mm. I could see it being much harder where you would need to swap between an internal stepper driver and an external one, and flash the firmware each time you made the change.

Is this like one of those point of sale countertop scanners that use lasers and rotating mirrors?
…or is this just a laser mount with a 4th axis style rotary mounts (for the material, not the laser)?