LR3 vs Primo

Has anyone built or have experience with both of these? Im working on the LR3 right now and see its a totally different design than the primo. Is the primo more rigud than the LR3 with it only riding on conduit on one side? I cant find many videos on the 3 to learn about its possibilities.

1 Like

I think there is a couple ppl that have both, I have a nominal size primo 1”od tube and it’s great and ridged.
I wanted the ability to do larger things like a full sheet of Eva foam pad. So rather than build the primo to a large size ( isn’t recommended) I chose to start building a lr3.
There is some differences like z height etc
I am still very new to all this so I can’t help as much as some will be able too.
I am sure someone will chime in that has both working and will have a better idea.

Ive seen 1 or 2 videos about doing aluminum which i definitely want to try. Im just curious on how sturdy the 3 is with only riding on 1 rail. Does the belt only side lift off the table?

There is a thread that compares the speeds and rigidity, the LR3 does as good as an MPCNC. I myself am just switching to the lowrider, because it is still very accurate, which is really important to me if you look at the earrings I made (go look at @Neilp bee!) and I wanted to have more workspace to be able to work with 60x120 sheets of plywood that is a standard size in Germany. The MPCNC was just too small. I also don’t really love the pipe right at the front. It’s a brilliant machine though.

LR3 rests/sits on the rail, it’s not clamped. So for me, the rail side can lift if the machine is not squared and/or other situations. I haven’t seen the bearing wheel side lift providing chips/debris are being deflected/cleared/vacuumed. Some folks have built LR3 with rails on both sides, but my limited understanding is that increases chances of lift/inaccuracies? Slower deep cuts seems to be recommended way to maximize overall volume of material accurately cut/carved.