Introducing Rona

Late January we finished up a fairly large project (for myself at least): a garage that was large enough to dedicate some space as a shop. I had about 24x16feet of space to work with. As I have long been a ill-equipped woodworker who never had dedicated space larger than 6ft in any direction, I knew what tool needed to be set up first: a CNC obviously.

I had been researching /watching / learning for a while. I also have had a fairly long relationship with 3D printing so the whole V1 product line was compelling. Then Coronavirus happened.

I am a computer science professor, so that meant that I was spending all of my time in my home office. An office that just happened to have a re-calibrated Ultimaker sitting idle. While Amazon was not shipping quickly, Gizmodorks and V1 were on top of it.

Cutting to the chase, this became my Coronavirus project. It is what kept me busy in between preparing lectures and grading code. There was a span of 3 weeks or so that I spent every zoom/teams/discord meeting trimming brim off of freshly printed parts.

The plans, largely inspired from My LRv2 so far (thanks @wcs39204) :

Working area is 50x108 with 12 inch z.

The idea was to use 3.5 inch strips of 3/4 shop grade birch to construct faux mortise/tenon/lap joints. This also meant that I could cut those strips at my dad’s shop on his table saw, then transport them on site and cut to length with a miter saw. Most of the sub assemblies are three layers of 3/4in, so approx: 2 1/4 thick. In total the table took, almost exactly, three 4x8 sheets.

Strips prepped and ready to be cut to length

Post assembly, but before adding side rails:

Post assembly level check

The table is made to be taken apart in the event that I move. The long side rails are attached via screws, the inner frames are solid. Everything was coated with a clear wood sealer / finish in an attempt to protect the wood.