How to wire the 3-contact limit switch for endstop

Hi all,
Again the docs don’t seem to have any info on this so I just have to guess, which risks frying my board with a short. The supplied limit switches from the shop have 3 contacts, but of course there are only 2 wires from them to the board. Can anyone explain which pins to use for which wiring endpoint in the board? I know they go to signal and ground on the board, and the docs say NC (Normally Closed) configuration, but that means nothing to me as I don’t know how that applies to a limit switch (again, I’m a noob to this but the docs seem to skip some of these quite important details). I have not seen it shown anywhere which contacts to use to connect to the limit switches themselves. If anyone knows, I’d appreciate it.
Thanks!
Matt

2 Likes

The end 2 (i.e. not the middle one) usually, but test with a meter

The docs show photos of the micro switches and their wiring - what else do you feel needs added?

1 Like

Thanks Dreyfus! I couldn’t find photos of the switches, so that was what I felt needs to be added.
If you have a link great, but if not, thank you for what you provided, it did the trick!

I checked these two links and several others that didn’t have any photos or description.
https://docs.v1e.com/electronics/ultimachine/#dual-end-stop_1
https://docs.v1e.com/electronics/dual-endstops/#basics

Best,
Matt

1 Like

These switches are almost always labeled:

There will be a C or Com for the common terminal. NC is the normally closed pin, and the NO is the normally open pin. For this pictured switch, the outside two terminals are used (as indicated by Drefus). Polarity does not matter. You can connect these two pins to the S and GND pins of your control board in either order.

You can also test it with an ohmmeter. The two terminals that are connected when the switch is not pressed will be Com and NC.