How to carve terrain maps - New tutorial on Instructables

I have written a detailed tutorial on how I use TouchTerrain to convert satellite imagery into a 3D model that can be carved with my MPCNC (or any CNC machine). And then how to carve and finish it. Here is an example of my latest work, including a resin ocean. It has a lot of practical details that should be enough to get you started if you have never done anything like this, or accelerate your progress if you have tried and gotten less than satisfactory results. I have been doing these for about 6 years now, and things got much easier since TouchTerrain came out!

I am also making a YouTube video to go with it, so please offer your comments and suggestions for improvements either here or as a comment on Instructables.

https://www.instructables.com/Carving-3D-Terrain-Topographic-Relief-Maps-on-a-CN/

10 Likes

I see that Instructables is still “reviewing” my tutorial…Please check back in a day or two!
[after 19 November 2022]

If you have an Instructables login, you can see this draft version:
https://www.instructables.com/preview/E7O3L48L9VD47FU/

4 Likes

Looks like it’s up now to the general public. Looking forward to reading it and getting some good hints/tips. Thanks for putting it together!

Okay, it is up now at the original link,
https://www.instructables.com/Carving-3D-Terrain-Topographic-Relief-Maps-on-a-CN/

All feedback and suggestions are welcome!

4 Likes

I have been interested in carving a NC State Topo in the shape of the state for some time now. I am getting stuck at the KML file part. How or where do I get a KML file in the shape of NC to use as my bounding box in TouchTerrain?

1 Like