How smooth should rollers move?

Forgive me as this is my first build. I have just now started constructing my frame. When I put my rollers on the tubing and try moving them, they seem stiff. Not stuck, but for sure not butter smooth. I have no reference/experience for this, but it seems common sense that stiff is not good. All the roller assemblies seem the same.

Hence the question is, when you push on the a roller assembly, how much friction should there be?

In trying to search the forum, it appears that all EMT is not created equal and some people polish it (https://www.v1engineering.com/forum/topic/conduit-options/).

I think i will try to search for a different type. Mine might be galvanized (not 100% sure). Its not rough per say, but it does not have a “smooth” looking finish (see https://www.homehardware.ca/en/34-x-10-emt-conduit/p/3621030)

Finally I have a cheap digital micrometer, it reads something like 23.7 mm (not 23.5) and this is the first EMT I have tried.

If your tension bolts are as loose as they can be you are fine, give it some time to break in. If you tightened them, don’t, until/if you ever need to. My Red and black build doesn’t even have nuts on some of the roller tension bolts and it is old.

Just to be 100% clear. These two bolts (uninstalled in the picture below) are considered the tension bolts on the rollers or is every bolt on the roller considered to be a tension bolt?

IMG_20160823_123602

Correct.

The bearings will also wear down the galvanized surface pretty quickly. If you decide to polish them, make sure you don’t breath the dust.

Basically any bolt that goes through a bearing that has plastic on both sides, are tension bolts.