Hot Air Soldering Station

Looking at picking up a (preferably cheap but still good) hot air soldering station. Looking for suggestions on what’s worth getting and what to stay away from. Noticed several on amazon in the $45-60 range. Sure would love to be at the $45 end but not if its just not worth it. I have plenty of “normal” soldering experience and find I’m not too bad at it. Many who are way better but I can get the job done 99% if the time. But hot air I’ve never messed with only seen YouTube for it lol. My reason is linked here. I smoked 2 SKR Pro 1.2 boards this week. Both the exact same way and same chip. When the second one went tonight I thought why not try to fix them. Not like I can break them anymore than they are now.

Linking an example from the other thread:

One observation about this particular situation is that is a REALLY dense space to be attempting a rework.
You’re at risk of melting headers, terminal guards, or blowing small SMT parts all over when doing the rework.

If it were me, I’d consider a different way to replace U2.

• Get some really sharp, really fine side cutters.
  • Cut off the failed U2 at the body, cut the leads at the top of the plastic, leaving the leads on the pads
  • Use a soldering iron to melt and remove the clipped off leads. Can use chipquick if necessary.
  • Re-tin the pads and put down some no-clean flux
  • Position the replacement part, and solder it. I’d consider dragging a tip across the part- it’s a learned thing but I’ve found it easier than pinpoint soldering the leads.
  • You can consider some mounting putty to hold the IC in place at the ends while you solder in the replacement. There are more expensive purpose putty used by industry but these style seem to work for me.

https://www.amazon.com/860-Scotch-Removable-Adhesive-Putty/dp/B018HSRGVC/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=Scotch%2BBrand%2B860%2BAdhesive%2BPutty%2BRemovable&qid=1705300446&sr=8-1&th=1

3 Likes