Help with picking the right CNC build - Newbie…

Greetings All,

I am new to the CNC world. I am looking to build a machine that can handle up to 4’ x 4’ for wood, aluminum parts, and plastic. I have seen YouTube videos where they looked slow, but on other videos from (I gather, name brands) they move pretty quick, even through aluminum. Of course these machines are pretty pricey and out of my reach.

Is there an MPCNC Machine build that can meet the requirements above? Can the base frame be aluminum extrusion? I’m not sure of what other questions to ask since I’m new to this.

I appreciate everyone’s time and any guidance.

1 Like

I’ve milled a good bit of aluminum with my LR3 recently and cut a bunch of wood. In the size specs you are looking for the LR3 would be the best option!

2 Likes

Perhaps consider what is the most exciting aspect of a CNC machine’s capabilities to you? Are you interested in carving signs? Making 3D reliefs and aesthetic pieces? Making functional pieces like drawer boxes or shop tools/furniture? Making home furniture pieces like flattening slabs, cutting leg profiles and so on? Making tech focused components like aluminium panels with switches and LEDs? Making tech focused components like alumunium parts out of chunks of billet? General modification stuff like cutting holes in die-cast enclosures for hobby electronics?

Are any of these things ‘this would be a cool project to do once’ type things? Are any of those ‘I would be doing this all the time’? Are any of those ‘I’d like to try making a small-scale business out of this’?

Can any of these things be accomplished by tools/skills that you already have or could some of them
be done in other ways? That might not be as fun to consider, but might help with identifying what the most important aspects are that would result in new capabilities vs simplifying existing processes.