FluidNC sand table automation/control via Home Assistant (work in progress)

I still have a lot of work to do here but I thought I’d share my progress in a thread in case other people find this useful. Full disclosure I am not a software engineer and there are probably much better/more streamlined ways to accomplish this if you actually know what you’re doing.

I’ve finally got my table up and running using Bart Dring’s TMC2209 Pen/Laser controller (new version) running FluidNC (and a ton of direct/indirect help from the wonderful people here in the forums). Unfortunately I quickly realized that there is no native ‘playlist’ support in FluidNC, so I set out trying to control it via Home Assistant since the board has wifi capabilities and can accept commands via TCP/Telnet (and for the fun of it).

Thus far I’ve worked out the ‘control’ side of the equation and now need to work on robustness and automation.

HA_dashboard_sm

This involved using a mix of Home Assistant, the Node-RED add-on, and the HACS add-on.

All communication is done via TCP nodes sent to the FluidNC IP:port (port 23)

Home, Pause, & Resume are done with simple button nodes (via the HACS “Node-RED Companion” add-on) that send the associated GRBL commands to a TCP node.

Status and Current Pattern are from a simple Inject node that sends ? on repeat every 3 seconds. This info is parsed and saved to a couple Sensor nodes. You can also add machine speed and % completion here since this is all included with ? (e.g. <Run|MPos:0.000,531.170,0.000|FS:1414,0|SD:99.98,/sd/wavy_noise.gcode>)