Finishing Up LR3, Need Advice on Spindle

Hi everyone. Having a blast making my LR3. Kinda having challenges as kinda new to CnC. After printing the parts and trying to put em together, i really find those parts are all masterpiece crafted. Finished my rails and making my full foldable table now.

I need help with a few last steps to finalize the build, total newbie here with basics of 3d printing so any advice is greatly appreciated:

I tried finding the router in my country, and all online stores sells only ‘trimmer’, that resembles the Dewalt / Makita router as recommended. The thing they call ‘router’ here in my country (Indonesia) is somewhat bulky and not mountable I guess on the LR3, so i opted for a spindle with 12,000 rpm and about 300-500 watts at 48v.

I have no prior experience with spindles, much in 3d printer extruder though, there are the last few challenges i face:

1. Firstly, is there are spindle mounts design that may fit into LR3? Mine is 50mm diameter. Rather than trying to make it myself, if there is any that suits the nicely transformer shaped x gantry for LR3 will be really appreciated.
  2. How do you usually connect a spindle to SKR 1.2? Will it just be normally separated with 48v psu and rpm control, or will it be better to connect thru the SKR 1.2 directly and how do it do that? Been trying to find any guides but kinda hard to find compared to 3d printing guides.
  3. I’m considering adding laser later on to try cut acrylics, if there is a good youtube guide for newbies like me please share.

Thanks in advance if anyone can help me on these last steps. I cant wait to start trying it out.

The Spindle I’m using with 50mm diameter 48v psu and simple dimmer.

3 Likes

Try this:

lr3_generic_mount_50mm.zip (24.3 KB)

This is a byproduct of some other work I had done for the Bosch router. Sorry there is no dust shoe for it (not sure if there ever will be).

Let me know if this works and if so then I’ll upload to Printables.

4 Likes