Engraved Kitchen Cabinet Doors

This is a project I have been putting off for a couple of years & starting out with the smallest doors above the frig. My 1st cut was using 1/2" plywood. Think it was birch plywood. I used a 1/4" bullnose router bit for all the cuts with a Bosch colt router. First thing I noticed was it was ripping the plywood where the layers met. I let it finish to see what other problems might show up. My z axis dropped about 5mm or so sometime during the cutting. It has been about a year since I have used my MPCNC & should have checked the 2 screws in the Z Nutlock. I will definitely tighten them a little more before attempting another cut. My deepest cuts were supposed to be 2.7mm. Is there a better cutting bit that would be best with plywood? I really want to use plywood if I can as I plan to paint the doors. I think engraving these at 1-2mm deep would solve most of the problems & think it will look just as good if the plywood behaves. I round the edges of the doors by putting a rounding bit with bearing on the router with the router attached to the CNC & manually pushing the board thru the cutting path.

I am using the original MPCNC version & since this is the 2nd time my z axis has dropped, probably should upgrade to the latest version. That being said, what additional hardware do I need to upgrade? Looks like I at least need an 8mmx300mm lead screw & a 5/16-18 X 5" bolt. I see the link to Amazon has this bolt as threaded all the way. Do the threads need to be the full length for this bolt? Are there any other parts I need to buy other than the filament to print all the parts?

Here is a picture of my first cuts & a screen shot of how these 2 doors should more or less look.

Use the peel pocketing strategy and do some test to dial in the correct amount for a finishing pass. Tear out is something you will probably need to deal with but a sharp bit and the right amount of finish load will make it way way better.