Autosquaring with EstlCAM

I am really happy with EstlCAM, but since you seem to be pretty active today here @christian-knuell, I’d like to ask: are there any plans to add autosquaring to Estlcam itself? It does work with the Open CNC Shield 2 for now, but it’s not the most elegant solution. I have got no experience in programming, so I don’t know, but is it so much of a problem to poll 5 instead of 3 drivers?

Hello,

it is on the ToDo list - but in the long term section.
Too many other things to do before - sorry.

And: it would only make sense with new hardware which would most likely be “Estlcam only” and hard to get outside Germany.
Not because of any malicious intent but the hardware platforms other control software like GRBL or Ramps use today have become far too fragmented for a one man show like me to keep supported.

It was fine when both Estlcam as well as GRBL were initially developed for the Arduino UNO and all I needed to do were some pin and port changes. But nowadays there are literally hundreds of different boards using at least 12 different processor architectures when I last counted. I can’t keep up with that and so any future hardware additions will most likely be my own, proprietary designs.

Christian

2 Likes

Thanks, this sounds better than a “no”. :smile:
And this is interesting. The Open CNC Shield still runs on the Arduino Mega, the Autosquaring is done by an ESP. Mega only would be my preferred solution. This wouldn’t be supported any more either? :sweat: Nevertheless, it sounds interesting.

The mega (and all other “old” hardware options) will be kept supported - but I won’t add new features to it.

1 Like

That’s good, so I can keep using it until it breaks. :smile: Thanks for taking your time.
If you create completely new hardware, a wireless option would be great for sending commands, which would lead me to buy it immediately.
Estlcam as a controller including Autosquaring and WiFi would be brilliant.