All the parts are here, time to start

All,

I’ve been printing and collecting bits for the last 3 months. Everything except the YZ plates and the struct braces are done. The plates are on the agenda for today, and the braces will wait for the build to get to the appropriate assembly stage.

Pictures, of course:

Mike

8 Likes

Good looking prints!

Next step(s) completed:

Took the Primo apart and will repurpose it for a smaller area of operation. I’m reusing the torsion box for the LowRider 3 build, so it had to be removed in any case.

Using Doug’s uni-strut extension prints I have now struts positioned along the short side of my box. This should allow me to have an X cutting dimension of 48 inches. The struts are removable/ reposition-able to allow a cut on an overhung panel, without making a drop table. I addition, I can move the machine 0,0 point forward or back, depending on the overhang I need.

Mike

2 Likes

Nice! Really like the thread insert adjustable rails.

1 Like

Looking good!

Glad the extension prints worked for you! They are working great for me. I suppose it’s possible that not all brands competing with “unistrut” make their products exactly the same, although hopefully they follow an accepted standard thickness and plan for size/shape.

Yesterday’s accomplishments:

Both sides of the gantry, and the completion of the core.

I also finished the controller enclosure, ala Doug Joseph.

Most progress has stopped, due to the need to reprint the Y rail mounting block. I had printed the “standard” blocks, but since I’m using the Unistruct rails system Doug designed, I’ve needed to re-print the correct blocks.

Would anyone like a set of Y rail blocks? I’ll send them anywhere in the US free of charge, Merry Christmas.

PM me if you’re interested

Mike

5 Likes

Awesome! Looking good!

1 Like