5052 v 6061: which aluminum type would be best for LR3 struts? Generally speaking?

I’m reading here…

…But I’m no engineer, and I’m not able to discern an answer. Who can take a shot at it? @vicious1 ?

One one hand, I like that it says 5052 is resistant to corrosion, which seems to bode well for using it as a strut without anodizing it. On the other other hand, it sounds like 6061 is stronger… I think?

The XZ plates I sell are 5052.

Stronger is the issue here. Stonger is not an engineering term. This is PLA vs PETG. 5052 is far less expensive, easier to machine, weld, bend. 6061 is more rigid. So depending on the application is how you choose it. For us both are far more rigid than MDF so save the money and use 5052. As for corrosion resistance they are very similar as far as I know. We don;t run in saltwater.

Airplanes use 7000 series from what I remember (more rigid, harder to work cut weld bend). So you can use less material to achieve the same rigidity, with the cost of hard to work and that actual cost is higher.

6 Likes

Awesome, thanks!

would 2mm thick 5052 solid plates be stiff enough/ light enough to replace the 1/8th hardboard?

would love to hear with what size you went with and your results!

I would imagine so!

Probably/maybe? 2mm is very thin and would only help in one direction, where we believe the hardboard to help in two (twist). Only use it if you have it, and can machine it. Otherwise, 1/4" hardboard is pretty stiff and might be better, and considerably easier to mill.

2 Likes

I wish I could buy 1/4" hardboard here. All the stores have here is 1/8" hardboard.

seems to be an issue for me as well in LA which seems crazy is it more common internationally?

OK I’m a week late, but I came across this yesterday. Interesting info on thermal conductivity as far as it relates to milling.

1 Like