47% Starduster Biplane

This is a 47% scale model of a full scale Super Starduster aerobatic biplane that was all cnc routered or laser cut on a V1 Engineering MPCNC Burley.
Each part was cut with indexing tabs to enable framing without the need for a plan to build over
All framework for fuselage, wings, tail surfaces, etc. was all done on the Burley

20 Likes

Stunning! The Airframe assembly looks great, almost a shame to be covered up.

Can you double the scale in EstlCam so you can hop aboard and fly the next one? :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Okay, I am impressed. That is just mind-blowing. Great work!

2 Likes

Fantastic work! I am an RC builder myself. What CAD program did you use for the aircraft design? Also, what size is you Burly working area?

1 Like

Autocad lt
The Burley has a 13"x38" cutting area
It was specifically setup to cut parts for giant scale model aircraft

2 Likes

Thanks so much Ryan, without you this never would have been possible !

4 Likes

Absolutely awesome!!

Just amazing !!

That’s crazy!!! So why 47% and not 50%?

3 Likes

That is a work of art. Fantastic.
How many hours do you reckon you have put in to that? Is it still balsa wood at that size?

Oh it’s the old 1:2.12765957447 scale!

I’d love to know what prompted that scale too please!

Had to fit in my trailer in a specific area, 1/2 scale would be to tall to fit, plus I use strictly 170cc twins and this size biplane (104" to 107")is just right.
My trailer is my limiting factor
If not I’d build bigger and it’s not required

6 Likes

Amazing!

I want one too! Turned out great! Is this one of those acrobatic planes that will never stall and can drag the tail around?

1 Like

wow, you did all that on the burley?? How big is your cnc??